About the Gateway Award

The Gateway Award is an activity award scheme which people with a learning disability, of any age or ability, can take part in. The award encourages people to gain new skills and experiences, become more independent, make friends, be active in the community and improve their health and wellbeing.

There are three levels of the Gateway Award, made up of five different activities: Bronze, Silver and Gold. Participants will receive a certificate upon completion of each stage.

How you can get involved

People can enrol and be supported with the award at a Gateway Award centre.

What are Gateway Award centres?

A Gateway Award centre is any organisation or setting where the award is running. Examples of award centres are schools, colleges, residential organisations, charities, youth organisations and day services.

Who can take part?

People with a learning disability of any age or ability can take part in the award. People decide their own goals and activities and work at their own pace with the level of support they require.

How do people enrol?

People can enrol via a centre. A centre can enrol individuals by submitting a participant information form. When all forms are submitted they will be assessed and an award will be made.


If you would like further information about how to get started, including where to find your local Gateway Award centre, please contact us:

Find your local group

Whether you're looking for advice and support, learning disability services – or simply, somewhere to make friends, why not see what's available in your local area?


You might also like

Local groups

We work with over 420 organisations to create a better world for people with a learning disability
Read more

Why Mencap?

Given the right support, people with a learning disability can do incredible things
Read more