Be Me

Read more about the day-to-day lives of people with a learning disability and the different things they have achieved.


Be me: Emma Hunt

With the support of Mencap's Gateway Active club and Emma's determination she is going to represent Team GB at the Special Olympics this year.

Be me: Gary Clements

My name is Gary Clements and I attended Mencap’s Segal House Nursery in Belfast. Now I work two days a week for Mencap.

Be me: Rhys Lewis

My name is Rhys Lewis and I have been supported by Mencap to live independently since 2005. My interests include construction equipment and roadworks.

Be me: Sheree Morton

My name is Sheree and I live in County Down. I have lived here all my life and work in the canteen at Asda. I will soon be moving into my brand new home.

Be me: Claire Smalley

My name is Claire Smalley, I’m 22 years old and I live with my mum, sister and two dogs Pip and Tilly, in Walton, Chesterfield. I go to Freedom Day Centre and Edmond Street Day Centre in Chesterfield near where I live.

Be me: Daniel Hirst

My name is Daniel and I live in Barnsley. I feel quite unique because, although I have a learning disability, I have a talent with computers and I am very proud of the BTEC in Computing that I achieved at college.

Be me: Hubert Redmond

My name is Hubert Redmond and I am 55 years old and I live in Carrickfergus. I like doing lots of things like looking after the animals at my day centre. We have a Water Dragon and two snakes.

Be me: Lewis Lamb

My name is Lewis, I am 12 years old and I live in Kirkby in Nottinghamshire with my mum, dad, younger sister Ruth and older brother Joseph.

Be me: Chas Pearce

My name is Chas Pearce. Since coming into contact with Mencap, I have met some very nice people, though sadly this is all due to my daughter’s death.

Be me: Keith Moberly

Hello, my name is Keith. I am supported by Mencap everyday in Brighton. I am a distant descendant of Peter the Great. He was the Emperor of the Russian empire from 1682 until 1725.

Be me: James Martin

My name is James Martin, I am 21 years old and live independently with my family in Belfast. I have two jobs and I'm involved in many different things.

Be me: Enzo Pertuzziello

My name is Enzo Pertuzziello. I am 56 years old and I live independently in Peterborough. I run a nightclub event called Lava Lamp for people with a learning disability in Peterborough.

Be me: Paul Savage

My name is Paul Savage and I’m an active campaigner. I recently met the Deputy Prime Minister, Nick Clegg, who agreed to take action on issues affecting people with a learning disability.

Be me: Sharon Pike

My name is Sharon Pike. I’m 43 years old and I live with my partner James in a flat on the 13th floor of a block in south London. I work in a care home.